HAMBURG AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT Hamburg, Berks County, PA 19526-0401 December 5, 2024

The reorganization meeting of the Board of Directors of the Hamburg Area School District was called to order by President, Ryan Gebely, at 6:30 p.m. This meeting was held in the James A. Gilmartin Community Room of Hamburg Area High School, Windsor Street, Hamburg, Pennsylvania.

A roll call of directors followed, and following directors were present:

Carson Adams, Thomas DeAngelo, Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Ryan Gebely

Absent- Steven Gilbert

There were eight directors present at the meeting when roll call was taken.

OTHERS PRESENT

Michele Zimmerman, Business Manager; Teresa Freiwald, Chief Learning Officer; Shawn Gravish, Director of Operations; Tim Easter, Middle School Principal; John Henne, Middle School Assistant Principal; Andrea Berger, Elementary Principal; Lacie Cucciuffo, Elementary Principal; Rob Marra, Student Services and Special Education Director; Matt Bertschy, Director of Transportation and Child Accounting; Carlie Cole, Director of Human Resources; Aaron Menapace; Athletic Director; David Shefter, Director of Food Services; Elaine Ruppert, Director of Facilities; James Mancuso, District Solicitor; Nicolette Hoover, Board Secretary; Visitors – Marcy Donatelli, Robert Lee Jr., Tyler Hartranft, Rebecca Hartranft

Mr. Gebely opened the meeting with the pledge to the flag.

IV. Public Comments

Mr. Gebely asked for public comments. There were no public comments.

The Board met for the purpose of reorganization under appropriate sections of Article IV of the School Laws of Pennsylvania as amended. This meeting was rescheduled from the original date of December 2, 2024 because of the school holiday recess.

V. Election of Temporary President for the purpose of Reorganization

A motion was made by Ryan Gebely, seconded by Tonia Krick to nominate Laura "Lolly" Lesher as Temporary President for the purpose of reorganization.

A roll call vote was taken on the motion for temporary president as follows:

Yes- Carson Adams, Thomas DeAngelo, Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

VI. Election of President for 2025

Mrs. Lesher, temporary president, took the chair and stated that she would accept a motion for president for the ensuing year.

A motion was made by Birgit White, seconded by Daniel Sarna to nominate Ryan Gebely as president for 2025.

There were no further nominations for president. A motion was made by Carson Adams, seconded by Thomas DeAngelo to close nominations for president. A voice vote was taken to close nominations:

Yes- Thomas DeAngelo, Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Carson Adams, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

A motion was made by Thomas DeAngelo seconded by Birgit White to cast a unanimous ballot for Ryan Gebely for the position of board president for 2025.

Yes- Thomas DeAngelo, Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Carson Adams, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

VII. Election of Vice President for 2025

Mr. Gebely took the chair and stated he would accept nominations for vice-president for the ensuing year.

A motion was made by Laura "Lolly" Lesher, seconded by Toni McFadden to nominate Thomas DeAngelo as vice-president for 2025.

There were no further nominations for vice-president. A motion was made by Laura "Lolly" Lesher, seconded by Carson Adams to close nominations for vice president. A voice vote was taken to close nominations:

Yes- Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Carson Adams, Thomas DeAngelo, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

A motion was made by Laura "Lolly" Lesher, seconded by Daniel Sarna to cast a unanimous ballot for Thomas DeAngelo for the position of board vice president for 2025.

Yes- Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Carson Adams, Thomas DeAngelo, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

VIII. Appointment of Solicitor for 2025

A motion was made by Laura "Lolly" Lesher, seconded by Daniel Sarna to recommend the appointment of James E. Mancuso, Esquire of the Mancuso Law Group LLC as the solicitor as per the terms and conditions of the engagement letter. (See Exhibit XXVIf-64)

A roll call voice vote on the motion was taken as follows:

Yes- Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Carson Adams, Thomas DeAngelo, Tonia Krick, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

IX. Consideration of Meeting Dates

A motion was made by Carson Adams, seconded by Birgit White, to approve the following meeting dates for 2025 and that all meetings be conducted in accordance with board policy at 6:30 p.m., prevailing time, in the James A. Gilmartin Community Room of Hamburg Area High School, Windsor Street, Hamburg, Pennsylvania (See Exhibit XXVIf-65)

January 13, 2025 January 27, 2025 February 10, 2025 February 24, 2025 March 10, 2025 March 24, 2025 April 14, 2025 April 28, 2025 May 12, 2025** June 9, 2025 June 23, 2025***

July 14, 2025 July 28, 2025 August 11, 2025 August 25, 2025 September 8, 2025 September 22, 2025 October 13, 2025 October 27, 2025 November 10, 2025 December 3, 2025**** December 22, 2025

^{*} Date Change Because Of School Holiday Schedule

^{**} Proposed Final Budget Adoption

^{***} Budget Adoption

^{****} Reorganization Meeting

A roll call voice vote on the motion was taken as follows:

Yes- Daniel Sarna, Birgit White, Carson Adams, Thomas DeAngelo, Tonia Krick, Laura "Lolly" Lesher, Toni McFadden, Ryan Gebely

No- None

Motion carried with eight directors voting yes.

X. 2025 Board Appointments

The 2025 Board appointments have been deferred until the second meeting in January to assess whether an appointee for the BCTC authority is still necessary at this time.

- A. Berks E.I.T Committee
 Michele Zimmerman
 Birgit H. White (Alternate)
- B. Joint Operating Committee
 Thomas D. DeAngelo
 Carson Adams (Alternate)
- C. Committee on Legislative Action & P.S.B.A. Regional Cabinet Toni L. McFadden
- D. B.C.T.C. Authority
 David Fisher

- E. Berks County Intermediate Unit Board
 - Ryan Gebely
- F. Fine Arts Hall of Fame Ryan J. Gebely Tonia S. Krick
- G. Wellness Committee
 Toni L. McFadden
- H. Academic Hall of Fame Toni L. McFadden Carson Adams

XI. Adjournment

A motion was made by Toni McFadden, seconded by Daniel Sarna to adjourn the reorganization meeting at 6:38 p.m. Motion carried.

January 27, 2025	
MINUTES APPROVED	RECORDED BY